Endorsement® Exam

Infant Mental Health Specialist and Infant Mental Health Mentor applicants must pass an exam prior to earning Endorsement®

The exam is generally offered twice annually, in March and September.  Please see the Events Calendar for dates.  If you have questions about policies related to the Endorsement® exam, please visit our Endorsement® Policies

The exam has two parts, both are based on the Competency Guidelines®. The competencies are divided into domains, referred to below. 

icons_1Part One (60 Multiple Choice Questions – 90 minutes)

  • The multiple-choice, or quantitative, section is more focused on the competency areas under the Theoretical Foundations and the Direct Service Skills domains, i.e., a test of IMH knowledge specific to work with infants (0-36 months) and their families. Within Theoretical Foundations, there will be more from the areas of infant/very young child development & behavior and attachment, separation, trauma grief, & loss. Within Direct Service Skills, there may be more from screening & assessment and parent-infant/very young child relationship-based therapies & practices
  • Most questions will be related to direct service, but there will be some questions related to reflective supervision/consultation, policy, and research
  • The multiple-choice section is the same for all applicants
  • Knowledge gained through course work, specialized in-service training, and self-study will be most useful in this section of the exam
  • 80% or better is required to pass (no more than 12 incorrect answers)

icons_2Part Two (Vignettes – 90 minutes)

  • The qualitative section for IMHS and IMHM-C will ask for responses to vignettes. This section is intended to measure the applicant’s capacity to apply his/her knowledge of IMH principles into practice and to demonstrate a reflective, relationship-based approach.   While all of the competency areas are important, the ones under the Reflection, Thinking, and Working with Others domains are the most important to the qualitative section for IMHS and IMHM.  Knowledge/skills gained through receiving reflective supervision/consultation (RSC) about direct service experiences (IMHS and IMHM) and about the RSC provided to others (IMHM-C) will be most useful in this section of the exam.
  • The qualitative section for IMHM-Policy asks applicants to respond to one of two scenarios. The Administration domain is the primary focus of the IMHM-P exam
  • The qualitative section for IMHM-Research/Faculty asks applicants to respond to one of two scenarios.  One scenario is more specific to teaching; the other scenario is more specific to empirical research. The Research & Evaluation domain is the primary focus of the R/F exam

Share this page: !