Metro-Detroit Association for Infant Mental Health

Supporting Nurturing Relationships

The Metro Detroit Association for Infant Mental Health (MD-AIMH) was organized in 1983 to support the work of MI-AIMH and those working with or on behalf of infants, young children, and their families/caregivers. MD-AIMH seeks to promote and support nurturing relationships and the social-emotional needs of infants and young children. MD-AIMH generally includes Wayne, Oakland, and Macomb counties, though we welcome all who wish to join, participate, and receive chapter membership benefits.

We offer trainings, workshops, and case presentations to promote awareness of Infant Mental Health, the importance of early relationships, and research-based strategies for intervention in fields that impact infants and young children. Such fields may include mental health providers, educators, human service professionals, and health care professionals. In addition to the regularly scheduled trainings, workshops, and case presentations, MD-AIMH serves as one of the sponsors for the annual two-day conference, Explorations in Development. The conference highlights nationally recognized speakers who address issues impacting infants, children, and families and are of particular interest to those professionals whose work we strive to support.

Our fundraiser, Bowling for Babies, raises funds that help make it possible to offer trainings, workshops, and presentations. We also host the Esther Dean Callard Award banquet; an evening for members and guests to share fine food and to celebrate the work of the award recipient. The Esther Dean Callard Award is given to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding service to and/or on behalf of infants and families in the Metro-Detroit area.

Please feel free to contact any one of our Board members to learn more about how you can participate. Make sure to stay up to date with the Metro Detroit chapter by liking and following us on Facebook at Md AIMH.


Chapter Officers:

NameChapter Position
Katie Wisniewski
Wayne County
kwisniewski@develctrs.org
President
Karen Anthony
Oakland County
Karen.Anthony@Oakland.k12.mi.us
Treasurer
Rose Pardiac
Wayne County
rpardiac@develctrs.org
Secretary
Amy Park Goeddeke
Macomb County
amy.parkg@gmail.com
Communications/Social Media
Carla Barron
Wayne County
ac7863@wayne.edu
Training/Education/Programs
Cynthia Sweet
Wayne County
csweet@thechildrenscenter.com
Fundraising
Evon Foster
Wayne County
efoster@neguidance.org
Outreach/Membership
Pam Weaver
Wayne County
pweaver@develctrs.org
Social Issues
Marien Orihel
Oakland County
mcorihel@ameritech.net
State Representative